📍 Toronto · Food Safety Certification

Toronto Public Health Food Handler Course Closed: What To Do In 2026

SA
Written by
Samira Ali
Certified Public Health Inspector · 10+ years across Canada & U.S.
📅 Published: May 2, 2026
🔄 Last Updated: May 2, 2026
⏱️ 6-min read

Toronto Public Health food handler certificate alternatives 2026
Toronto Public Health’s food handler program closed in 2025 — here’s what replaces it.

Toronto Public Health’s food handler course is closed indefinitely as of 2026, with no reopening date announced. Toronto food workers can still get a fully recognized food handlers certificate Toronto through accredited online providers — with the same legal validity, often the same day, and accepted by every Toronto Public Health Inspector under Ontario Regulation 493/17.

⚡ TL;DR — Key Takeaways
  • ✓TPH’s food handler course is indefinitely closed — not delayed, no reopening date
  • ✓Your old TPH certificate is still valid until its 5-year expiry date
  • ✓The legal requirement is Ontario Reg 493/17, not a TPH-specific certificate
  • ✓Online accredited providers issue same-day certificates, Toronto inspectors accept
  • ✓Cost: $24 to $60, depending on provider — often with WHMIS bundled free

What Happened to Toronto Public Health’s Food Handler Course?

Toronto Public Health (TPH) ran one of the largest municipal food handler certification programs in Canada for decades. The course was held at TPH offices across the city, with students attending a one-day in-person classroom session, sitting a written exam, and receiving a 5-year certificate by mail or pickup.

In recent years, the program was paused. The pause has now extended to a full closure, and the City of Toronto’s official program page confirms courses, exams, and replacement certificate issuance are all on hold indefinitely. No replacement program has been announced.

For Toronto food workers and restaurant operators, this leaves three practical realities to navigate: existing certificates are still valid until expiry, new workers cannot get TPH-issued training, and the Ontario Regulation that governs food handler training in Toronto remains fully in effect — which means certification is still legally required, just no longer available through TPH.

Toronto Public Health food handler course closure timeline 2025-2026

Is Food Handler Training Still Legally Required in Toronto?

Yes. The legal requirement comes from Ontario Regulation 493/17 (Food Premises), which applies to every restaurant, food truck, café, grocery store, daycare kitchen, and food premise operating in Toronto. Section 32 of the regulation requires every food premises to have at least one certified food handler on duty during every shift when food is being prepared or served.

The regulation does not specify which course you must take. It specifies that the training must cover food safety topics — temperature control, hygiene, allergens, sanitation, foodborne illness prevention — and that the certificate must be issued by a recognized provider. Toronto Public Health’s course was one option. Accredited online courses are another. Both satisfy the law equally.

Toronto Public Health Inspectors enforce Ontario Regulation 493/17 during routine inspections. Their job is to confirm that at least one person on shift holds a valid food handler certificate from a recognized provider — not to verify that the certificate came specifically from TPH.

What Are Your Options Now in 2026?

With TPH’s course unavailable, Toronto food workers and operators have three realistic paths forward:

Option 1 · Recommended

Take an accredited online course

Same-day certificate, accepted by Toronto Public Health Inspectors, fully compliant with Ontario Reg 493/17. Cost: $24–$60.

Option 2 · Risky

Wait for TPH to reopen

No timeline announced. Working in food service without certification creates legal exposure for both you and your employer.

Option 3 · Limited

Other Ontario Health Units

Some still run in-person courses (Peel, York, Halton) but have wait times, in-person attendance requirements, and limited spots.

TPH Course vs. Online Alternative — Side by Side

For Toronto workers who used to plan around TPH’s classroom course, the practical differences with online alternatives matter. Here’s how the two formats compared in 2024 (when TPH was running) versus what’s available now in 2026:

FeatureTPH Classroom (was)Online Accredited (now)
Status in 2026Closed indefinitelyAvailable 24/7
FormatIn-person classroom100% online
Time requiredFull day~6 hours self-paced
SchedulingPre-set class datesStart anytime
ExamPaper, in-personWebcam-proctored
Certificate deliveryMailed weeks laterSame-day download
Validity5 years (Ontario)5 years (all of Canada)
Legal recognitionOntario Reg 493/17Ontario Reg 493/17
CostIn-person fee$24–$60

What To Look For In an Accredited Online Provider

Not every online food handler course is treated equally by Toronto inspectors. Some are sold by unaccredited resellers and may not be recognized. Before paying for any course, verify these five things on the provider’s website:

  1. 1Recognition by Ontario Health Units. The provider should explicitly state acceptance by Ontario Health Units, not vague claims about “Canada-wide recognition.”
  2. 2Proctored exam. Reputable courses include webcam-proctored testing. Unproctored “tests” may not satisfy inspector scrutiny if challenged.
  3. 3Verifiable certificate. The provider should issue certificates with a unique ID and an online verification system that inspectors can check.
  4. 4Curriculum aligned with Reg 493/17. The course should explicitly cover temperature control, cross-contamination, allergens, hygiene, and sanitation.
  5. 5Identifiable Canadian inspector or instructor. Look for a named, credentialed Public Health Inspector behind the curriculum — not a generic “team.”

Sample Toronto food handler certificate accepted under Ontario Regulation 493/17

What To Tell a Toronto Inspector If They Ask About Your Certificate

Most Toronto restaurant operators worry about the inspector showing up and questioning an online certificate. In practice, inspectors verify three things during a routine inspection: that at least one trained food handler is on shift, that the certificate is unexpired, and that the issuing provider is recognizable.

If an inspector asks about your certificate, the simplest response is to point out that Toronto Public Health’s program is closed, your training comes from an accredited online provider compliant with Ontario Regulation 493/17, and offer to show the certificate verification on the provider’s website. Inspectors are aware that TPH is closed and are accustomed to seeing alternative-provider certificates across all 34 Ontario Health Units.

A reputable provider will also offer a money-back guarantee specifically tied to inspector acceptance. If a Toronto inspector ever rejects your certificate, the provider refunds you in full — that policy alone signals the certificate is built to pass inspection.

⚡ Toronto Workers

Need a Toronto-Recognized Certificate Today?

Same legal validity as the closed TPH course. Same-day certificate. Money-back guarantee if a Toronto inspector rejects it.

Register Now

Frequently Asked Questions

Common questions Toronto food workers and operators ask about the closed TPH program and the alternatives.

Why is the Toronto Public Health food handler course closed?

Toronto Public Health has indefinitely paused its in-person and online Food Handler Certification Program. The City of Toronto’s official program page confirms courses, exams, and replacement certificate issuance are on hold with no announced reopening date.

Will an online food handler certificate be accepted in Toronto in 2026?

Yes. Ontario Regulation 493/17 (Food Premises) requires at least one trained food handler on every shift, but does not specify that the training must come from Toronto Public Health. Any certification recognized by Ontario Health Units — including accredited online programs — meets the legal requirement.

Is my old Toronto Public Health certificate still valid?

Yes. If your TPH-issued certificate has not yet expired (5-year validity from issue date), it remains valid for the full term. Once it expires, you’ll need to recertify through an accredited alternative since TPH’s program is closed.

How much does a food handler certificate cost in Toronto in 2026?

Accredited online providers in Canada typically charge between $24 and $60. Probe It Food Safety’s certificate costs $49.95 and includes a free WHMIS 2015 certificate (a $24.95 value). The full cost includes course materials, the proctored exam, and your downloadable certificate — no hidden fees.

How long does it take to get a food handler certificate online?

About 6 hours total — registration takes 30 seconds, the self-paced course runs about 5 hours, and the proctored exam takes 30–45 minutes. You can download your certificate the same day you start. Most Toronto students finish in one evening.

Will Toronto inspectors accept my online certificate?

Yes — provided the certificate is issued by an accredited provider whose training meets the standards of Ontario Regulation 493/17. Toronto Public Health Inspectors enforce that regulation, not a TPH-only rule. Reputable online providers list their accreditation publicly and are accepted across all 34 Ontario Health Units.

Will Toronto Public Health bring back its food handler program?

No timeline has been announced. The City of Toronto’s official program page still lists the course as closed indefinitely as of May 2026. Even if the program returns, it will likely run alongside accredited online providers rather than replace them.

About the Author

SA
Samira Ali
Certified Public Health Inspector

Certified Public Health Inspector with over 10 years of experience across Canada and the United States. Holds a Certificate in Occupational Health & Safety. Writes about food safety regulation, inspection workflows, and certification compliance for restaurant operators across Canada.